Marvel's 'Scarlet' Comic Is Headed To HBO

Brian Michael Bendis has long been Marvel Comics' homerun hitter, but he's done a pretty good job for himself in the world of TV, as well. Already his comics Jessica Jones and Powers have been brought to the small screen, and now he's about to add another based on comments he made at the ATX TV Festival.

Bendis announced that his comic Scarlet, which is part of Marvel's creator-owned Icon imprint, will be headed to HBO. That makes this the first such partnership between Marvel and HBO, which is big news in itself. He didn't add much in the way of details except to say that a confirmation will be coming soon. If this were his colleague Mark Millar we might be a little wary but Bendis is probably shooting straight.

Scarlet centers on a young woman named Scarlet Rue who fights against a corrupt world, joined by like-minded followers in a revolt against the government. Similar to Deadpool she's prone to breaking the fourth wall and talking directly to readers. Here's the comic's synopsis:

Scarlet is the story of a woman pushed to the edge by all that is wrong with the world…A woman who decides to stand up and fight back…A woman who will not back down…A woman who discovers within herself the power to start a modern American revolution!! In the vein of Alias, Powers, and Jinx, Scarlet debuts a fascinating new comics character that, with every issue, reveals new things about herself against a completely original backdrop of intrigue and drama.  [Deadline]