Ben Affleck's 'Argo' wins big at the Golden Globes, earning Best Picture and Best Director

The 70th Annual Golden Globes were held tonight, and Hollywood's drunken, messy, more fun awards show decided to stick it a little bit to the Academy Awards. Hosted by Tina Fey and Amy Poehler, who began the night with a couple of blistering jabs(including a perfect one aimed at James Cameron) before mostly fading into obscurity, the show didn't feature much in the way of surprises. Well, unless you count Jodie Foster's Cecile B. Demille Award acceptance speech, a heartfelt and honest ode to privacy and loyalty that left some stunned.

Ben Affleck and his hostage drama Argo were the big winners tonight, taking home the Best Picture Drama award, while he won  for Best Director. The film hit that sweet spot Hollywood loves, paying homage to the process of movie making while remaining timely, entertaining, and globally appealing. But the win was also a thumb in the Academy's eye, as it wasn't even nominated in the category. In fact, three of the five directors nominated tonight aren't up for an Academy Award. Les Miserables also had a great showing with three wins, including Best Picture Comedy/Musical, along with acting wins for Hugh Jackman and Anne Hathaway. Django Unchained earned two honors, with Christoph Waltz beating out Leonardo DiCaprio for Best Actor, and Quentin Tarantino winning for Best Screenplay. Jennifer Lawrence earned Silver Linings Playbook's only victory, winning for Best Actress in a Comedy/Musical. The same goes for Jessica Chastain, giving Zero Dark Thirty its sole win for Best Actress in a Drama.

The full list of winners is below.

Best Supporting Actor
Christoph Waltz - "Django Unchained"(Winner)
Alan Arkin - "Argo"
Leonardo DiCaprio - "Django Unchained"
Tommy Lee Jones - "Lincoln"
Philip Seymour Hoffman - "The Master"

Best Picture - Drama
"Django Unchained"
"Life Of Pi"
"Zero Dark Thirty"

Best Picture - Comedy/Musical
"Best Exotic Marigold Hotel"
"Les Miserables"(Winner)
"Moonrise Kingdom"
"Salmon Fishing In The Yemen"
"Silver Linings Playbook"

Best Director
Ben Affleck - "Argo"(Winner)
Quentin Tarantino - "Django Unchained"
Ang Lee - "Life Of Pi"
Steven Spielberg - "Lincoln"
Kathryn Bigelow - "Zero Dark Thirty"

Best Actress - Drama
Rachel Weisz - "The Deep Blue Sea"
Helen Mirren - "Hitchcock"
Naomi Watts - "The Impossible"
Marion Cotillard - "Rust And Bone"
Jessica Chastain - "Zero Dark Thirty"(Winner)

Best Actor - Drama
Richard Gere - "Arbitrage"
Denzel Washington - "Flight"
Daniel Day-Lewis - "Lincoln"(Winner)
Joaquin Phoenix - "The Master"
John Hawkes - "The Sessions"

Best Actress - Comedy/Musical
Judi Dench - "Best Exotic Marigold Hotel"
Meryl Streep - "Hope Springs"
Maggie Smith - "Quartet"
Emily Blunt - "Salmon Fishing In The Yemen"
Jennifer Lawrence - "Silver Linings Playbook"(Winner)

Best Actor - Comedy/Musical
Jack Black - "Bernie"
Bill Murray - "Hyde Park On Hudson"
Hugh Jackman - "Les Miserables"(Winner)
Ewan McGregor - Salmon Fishing In The Yemen
Bradley Cooper - "Silver Linings Playbook"

Best Supporting Actress
Anne Hathaway - "Les Miserables"(Winner)
Sally Field - "Lincoln"
Amy Adams - "The Master"
Nicole Kidman - "The Paperboy"
Helen Hunt - "The Sessions"

Best Screenplay
Chris Terrio - "Argo"
Quentin Tarantino - "Django Unchained"(Winner)
Tony Kushner - "Lincoln"
David O Russell - "Silver Linings Playbook"
Mark Boal - "Zero Dark Thirty"

Best Original Score
Alexandre Desplat - "Argo"
Dario Marianeli - "Anna Karenina"
Tom Tykwer, Johnny Klimek, Reinhold Heil - "Cloud Atlas"
Mychael Danna - "Life Of Pi"(Winner)
John Williams - "Lincoln"

Best Original Song
Keith Urban - "For You" ("Act Of Valor")
Taylor Swift - "Safe & Sound" ("The Hunger Games")
Hugh Jackman - "Suddenly" ("Les Miserables")
Adele - "Skyfall" ("Skyfall") (Winner)
Jon Bon Jovi - "Not Running Anymore" - ("Stand Up Guys")

Best Animated Feature Film
"Hotel Transylvania"
"Rise Of The Guardians"
"Wreck-It Ralph"

Best Foreign Film
"The Intouchables"
"A Royal Affair"
"Rust & Bone"

Best Television Series - Drama
"Breaking Bad"
"Boardwalk Empire"
"Downton Abbey"
"The Newsroom"

Best Performance by an Actress In A Television Series - Drama
Connie Britton, "Nashville"
Glenn Close, "Damages"
Claire Danes, "Homeland"(Winner)
Michelle Dockery, "Downton Abbey"
Julianna Margulies, "The Good Wife"

Best Performance by an Actor In A Television Series - Drama
Jeff Daniels, "The Newsroom"
Jon Hamm, "Mad Men"
Damian Lewis, "Homeland"(Winner)
Steve Buscemi, "Boardwalk Empire"
Bryan Cranston, "Breaking Bad"

Best Television Series - Comedy Or Musical
"The Big Bang Theory"
"Modern Family"

Best Performance by an Actress In A Television Series - Comedy Or Musical
Zooey Deschanel, "New Girl"
Julia Louis-Dreyfus, "Veep"
Lena Dunham, "Girls"(Winner)
Tina Fey, "30 Rock"
Amy Poehler, "Parks and Recreation"

Best Performance by an Actor In A Television Series - Comedy Or Musical
Alec Baldwin, "30 Rock"
Don Cheadle, "House of Lies"(Winner)
Louis CK, "Louie"
Matt LeBlanc, "Episodes"
Jim Parsons, "The Big Bang Theory"

Best Mini-Series Or Motion Picture Made for Television
"Game Change"(Winner)
"The Girl"
"Hatfields & McCoys"
"The Hour"
"Political Animals"

Best Performance by an Actress In A Mini-series or Motion Picture Made for Television
Nicole Kidman, "Hemingway and Gelhorn"
Jessica Lange, "American Horror Story: Asylum"
Sienna Miller, "The Girl"
Julianne Moore, "Game Change"(Winner)
Sigourney Weaver, "Political Animals"

Best Performance by an Actor in a Mini-Series or Motion Picture Made for Television
Kevin Costner, "Hatfields & McCoys"(Winner)
Benedict Cumberbatch, "Sherlock"
Woody Harrelson, "Game Change"
Toby Jones, "The Girl"
Clive Owen, "Hemingway and Gelhorn"

Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role in a Series, Mini-Series or Motion Picture Made for Television
Hayden Panettiere, "Nashville"
Archie Panjabi, "The Good Wife"
Sarah Paulson, "Game Change"
Maggie Smith, "Downton Abbey"(Winner)
Sofia Vergara, "Modern Family"

Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role in a Series, Mini-Series or Motion Picture Made for Television
Max Greenfield, "New Girl"
Ed Harris, "Game Change"(Winner)
Danny Huston, "Magic City"
Mandy Patinkin, "Homeland"
Eric Stonestreet, "Modern Family"