'Zero Dark Thirty' takes top honors in DC's WAFCA Awards

And the good times keep rolling for Kathryn Bigelow's Zero Dark Thirty, as we in the Washington DC Area Film Critics Association announced our WAFCA Awards winners this morning. The controversial film depicting the decade-long hunt for Osama Bin Laden took home three more victories, including Best Director, Best Picture, and Best Actress for star Jessica Chastain. This adds to what was a highly successful weekend which saw it taking top honors from the Boston and NY film critics groups.

Daniel Day-Lewis' win for Best Actor saved Steven Spielberg's Lincoln from a total shut out, adding momentum to his bid for an Academy Award. The hotly contested Best Supporting Actor category went in favor of Philip Seymour Hoffman for The Master, earning Paul Thomas Anderson's film its only victory. It's been an incredible, eye-opening run for Michael Haneke's Amour over the last few days, and it picked up even more accolades by winning the Best Foreign Language category. Beasts of the Southern Wild's Quevenzhane Wallis won the inaugural Joe Barber Award for Best Youth Performance. Rian Johnson's mind-bending time travel film, Looper, took home a surprising victory in the Best Original Screenplay category.  See the full list of winners below.


Best Film:
Zero Dark Thirty

Best Director:
Kathryn Bigelow (Zero Dark Thirty)

Best Actor:
Daniel Day-Lewis (Lincoln)

Best Actress:
Jessica Chastain (Zero Dark Thirty)

Best Supporting Actor:
Philip Seymour Hoffman (The Master)

Best Supporting Actress:
Anne Hathaway (Les Misérables)

Best Acting Ensemble:
Les Misérables

Best Adapted Screenplay:
David O. Russell (Silver Linings Playbook)

Best Original Screenplay:
Rian Johnson (Looper)

Best Animated Feature:

Best Documentary:

Best Foreign Language Film:

Best Art Direction:
Uli Hanisch, Hugh Bateup - Production Designers; Peter Walpole, Rebecca Alleway - Set Decorators (Cloud Atlas)

Best Cinematography:
Claudio Miranda (Life of Pi)

Best Score:
Jonny Greenwood (The Master)

The Joe Barber Award for Best Youth Performance:
Quvenzhané Wallis (Beasts of the Southern Wild)