Your 2011 Independent Spirit Award winner are....

My favorite awards show of the year was held yesterday(and played last night on IFC). The Independent Spirt Awards was hosted by Joel McHale(The Soup) and honored the best in "independent" cinema for the year 2010.  Why do I like it so much? Because every year all the celebs complain either about the heat or the cold, this year there was the added bonus of a slippery stage floor.  Everybody gets tanked pretty early on. I'm convinced James Franco was both drunk and high when he went up on stage to get the award for Best Male Lead for his amazing turn in 127 Hours. Oh, and it's the only awards show where you get to see Greta Gerwig(Greenberg) nominated against Nicole Kidman(Rabbit Hole).  I would've picked Gerwig. It's probably the only place where John Hawkes(Winter's Bone) gets the Best Supporting Male award he so rightly deserves. Hey, we also got a chance to see a ballooned Natalie Portman alongside....that guy.  There was Nicole Kidman and her see-through dress showing her thong, Darren Aronofsky and his too tight suit, and Dale Dickey winning Best Supporting Female for Winter's Bone. Awesome.

Anyway, here's the full list of winners! If you watched it last night then you got a chance to see some folks polish up their Academy Awards speeches while tipsy on Tanqueray.

Best Feature: Black Swan

Best Director: Darren Aronofsky, Black Swan

Best Screenplay: Stuart Blumberg, Lisa Cholodenko, The Kids Are All Right
Best Male Lead: James Franco, 127 Hours
Best Supporting Male: John Hawkes, Winter’s Bone
Best Female Lead: Natalie Portman, Black Swan

Best Supporting Female: Dale Dickey, Winter’s Bone

Best Cinematography: Matthew Libatique, Black Swan

Robert Altman Award: Please Give (given to director Nicole Holofcener, casting director Jeanne McCarthy and the ensemble cast)

Best First Screenplay: Lena Dunham, Tiny Furniture

Best First Feature: Get Low (award given to the director, Aaron Schneider, and producers David Gundlach and Dean Zanuck)

Best Documentary: Exit Through The Gift Shop

Best Foreign Film: The King’s Speech (award given to the director, Tom Hooper)

John Cassavetes Award (best feature made for under $500,000): Daddy Longlegs (written and directed by Benny Safdie and Josh Safdie and produced by Casey Neistat and Tom Scott)

Piaget Producers Award: Anish Savjani, Meek’s Cutoff

Someone To Watch Award: Mike Ott, Littlerock

Truer Than Fiction Award: Jeff Maimberg, Marwencol